Institute for Experimental Medical Research

IEMR is a department both within Division of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Diseases (HLK) at Oslo University Hospital, and the Institute of Clinical Medicine at University of Oslo. Professor Mathis Korseberg Stokke is Head of Institute, and Head of Department in both organizational lines.

The Institute has two hospital subsections, Section for Preclinical Physiology led by Morten Eriksen and the Laboratory and Technical Section led by Lisbeth H. Winer who is also Head of Administration. Joselan Fabe Larsen is Higher Executive Officer.

The Institute has six research groups and one associated research group led by Group Leaders.

We host four regional core facilities. Professor William Louch is head of Core Facility Super-resolution and Confocal Microscopy, and Professor Ivar Sjaastad is head of both Preclinical MR, Large Animal Research and Preclinical PET.

The institute also hosts a KG Jebsen Center for Cardiac Research, led by Professor Ivar Sjaastad.

We provide a research environment with excellent facilities and state-of-the-art equipment, together with financial and technical support.

Research groups:

Carlson group
Cataliotti group
Louch group
Sjaastad group
Stokke Group
Tønnessen group

Core Facilities:

Core Facility Super-resolution and Confocal Microscopy
Preclinical MR Core facility
Core Facility for Large Animal Research


Section for Preclinical Physiology
Laboratory and Technical Section